Advertisements
K&N TYPHOON

Like Tree9Likes

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15 Aug 2015, 12:02 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default K&N TYPHOON

I just ordered my K&N cai and I'm excited for the looks.

I started to wonder where the hose from the side of the motor that went into the stock airbox goes with the new cai
I've seen people have done the mini cone filter ans I like that what do I have to do get to do that little mod
Old 15 Aug 2015, 12:38 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: K&N TYPHOON

Most of the aftermarket CAI's have two nipples/holes to accept the vacuum line and the IAT (Intake Air Temperature) sensor. If not, like you said, a small filter can be used instead of the vacuum line.
Old 15 Aug 2015, 02:39 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

I have the mini cone filter for my PCV vent. But it's mounted on a small catch can. The catch can is actually a bowl-type line filter for an air compressor. I have a Bomba check valve on the other side between the PCV valve and the intake manifold. I believe that may help too. Otherwise, the PCV valve has to hold back the turbo pressure from entering the crankcase.

Have you considered any type of air dam so the intake will pull more from the fresh air duct instead of off the engine? I wish I had a Typhoon but my budget was stretched during my engine upgrade due to other complications. Here's my setup:

Last edited by Handy_Cruiser; 15 Aug 2015 at 02:44 pm.
Old 15 Aug 2015, 02:53 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

The Typhoon should come with a vehicle specific heat shield that would help prevent drawing in hot air.

Old 15 Aug 2015, 03:39 pm
Fresh Cruiser