PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > Turbo Performance

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
reset computer

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26 Jun 2004, 11:31 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: .
Posts: 84
Default reset computer

How often do you guys reset your computer to get the best performance? every other day, once a week, once a month etc. or better yet how fast does it take the computer to learn and go back into stock mode after reseting the computer? thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27 Jun 2004, 09:40 am
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL, USA.
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via AIM to sakigt
Default

Apparently instantaneously...

The best way to get the best performance from your PCM is drive it hard! For example...I didnt realize it at teh time, but everytime I went down the track, the PCM got more and more "used" to that way of driving...by the end of the night my initial 15.1 had turned into a 14.6

Crazy stuff...
__________________

14.67 @ 94.5 <--- Self Proclaimed Fastest East Coast PT with Black wheels!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27 Jun 2004, 11:44 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CA., USA.
Posts: 473
Default

For those in CA. and other states that check the system monitors during a smog check should not disconnect the battery or "reset" the PCM at least 2 or 3 weeks before their test. When you disrupt battery power you clear the system monitors and in order to pass the I/M inspection the monitors need to be set and some monitors need very unusual circumstances to ready themselves and could take weeks to find the right set of circumstances to set. You are allowed 2 to be pending and I believe only 1 for 2005 and later.
Just a note,
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28 Jun 2004, 11:09 am
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alvaton, GA, USA.
Posts: 1,162
Default

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by onyx pt

How often do you guys reset your computer to get the best performance? every other day, once a week, once a month etc. or better yet how fast does it take the computer to learn and go back into stock mode after reseting the computer? thanks in advance.
I reset mine before every run at the track.
__________________



\"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.\"
Benjamin Franklin, Historical Review of Pennsylvania, 1759

www.cybermopar.com

TripleJack
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28 Jun 2004, 05:05 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Alamitos, CA, USA.
Posts: 430
Default

I put on a battery switch and disconnect it when I'm filling the tank. Disconnecting the battery resets the trip gage which I use to figure how bad the mileage is! PTGTCP, I don't understand why it would take weeks to reset. And, what do you mean your allowed two to be pending?
__________________
Inferno Red \'04 GT Autostick, Stage I, BTG exhaust, Airforce One intake, V.A.K. Candy Red upper charge pipe, BTG strut bar,Hyperground, chrome side spears and grill accents.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28 Jun 2004, 06:38 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL, USA.
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via AIM to sakigt
Default

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by JPMS GT

I put on a battery switch and disconnect it when I'm filling the tank. Disconnecting the battery resets the trip gage which I use to figure how bad the mileage is! PTGTCP, I don't understand why it would take weeks to reset. And, what do you mean your allowed two to be pending?
Why dont you just push and hold the trip button??? [:I]
__________________

14.67 @ 94.5 <--- Self Proclaimed Fastest East Coast PT with Black wheels!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28 Jun 2004, 10:22 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Manchaca, TX, USA.
Posts: 244
Default

Push and hold a button when you can disconnect a battery cable or install a monster switch?? You have got to be kidding.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30 Jun 2004, 04:53 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Alamitos, CA, USA.
Posts: 430
Default

Was I missunderstood? My point was that resetting the PCM "seems" to make a difference to me. So each time I fill up the tank I flip the battery terminal switch, check the fluids, clean the widshield, top off the tank and re-switch the battery and it's done. The trip gage resets it 0.0 but I write the mileage down before I disconnect the battery. The Sirius radio doesn't loose its settings so all is good to go. And, this is the best buzzzz a man my age can get, on a weekly basis.[8)]

__________________
Inferno Red \'04 GT Autostick, Stage I, BTG exhaust, Airforce One intake, V.A.K. Candy Red upper charge pipe, BTG strut bar,Hyperground, chrome side spears and grill accents.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18 Aug 2004, 01:40 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina, USA.
Posts: 102
Default

Okay y'all...

This may sound like a silly question, but in order to reset the PCM, do you need to disconnect BOTH battery terminals, or just one. If one, which?

I've seen those green knobby things which are battery quick-disconnects, but they only go on the negative terminal.

I've tried doing both separately, but never lost any of my presets or anything, so it must not be working correctly.

Granted, the slight mods I have might not result in too much extra seat-of-the-pants horsepower, so even if it DID work, I might not notice all that much, anyway.

Anyway...do ya need to disconnect both terminals to reset the PCM?

Thanks!
__________________
Mike

2003 Patriot Blue GT
\"R\" Package
Autostick
K&N drop-in w/both airbox silencers removed
Brand \"X\" Turbo-up pipe
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18 Aug 2004, 01:58 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, USA.
Posts: 1,799
Default

Just disconnect the negative (ground) terminal.
__________________
'03 Inferno Red GT, 5 speed, STAGE 1, Mopar BOV, Plastic Intake, Modified Upper and Lower Airbox, Custom Airbox-to-turbo pipe, Borla dual exhaust, Maddog Short Shifter, Drilled/Slotter Rotors, Ceramic Pads, chrome wheels, chrome door spears, AMP chrome fuel door, PT Cruiser 3rd light diffuser, H&R Springs, Rear Sway Bar added, MGW chrome door lock pulls, Blane's hood struts, Custom license plate mount, some interior dress up stuff...more to come
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: 03-05 Turbo computer 5 speed 340x Classifieds: Want To Buy 2 20 Dec 2005 11:22 pm
Computer reset question... smfrycruzr General PT Cruiser Discussions 4 27 Jun 2004 09:02 pm
intake - must reset computer? got dyno numbers? secretspy Tech & Performance Forum 4 16 Jul 2003 06:22 pm
New Here - With a Computer Question... Martin Logan Tech & Performance Forum 1 12 Nov 2002 12:12 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors