PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Where to start???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27 Jul 2004, 06:23 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to ptdreamer
Default Where to start???

Oh well, better just jump in with both feet... First off, I've been poking around these forums for a little over a month and I am most impressed with differing levels of expertise and how ready everyone is to help out one another. It's pretty cool.

So here goes, I've got an '04 Dream Series III and I'm looking to dress it up a little more. When it comes to the aesthetics to make it LOOK good- trim, chrome, lights, etc. - no problem. When it come to liftin' the hood - forget it - I'm a total novice. Not afraid to get in there, but I'm gonn need direction and help.
So where do we start? I'm just looking for suggestion with what to start with. What works well vs. what looks good.
Air Intake? Is it worth it. What type?
What about dual exaust? Will it do more than look sweet? Catback or Axle-back? Brands.
Any and all help appreciated. What can I do myself, what should I see a Pro about?Thanks

PS: My dad just got his new InfernoRed '05 GT Covert - we'll be looking for mods for it too.
Old 27 Jul 2004, 07:00 pm
Regular Cruiser

ptdreamer,

I've got two things on my PT GT to boost performance (one improves sound too), that are highly effective and I would recommend them above all others. Both of these items are designed for our GT's and sold by Chrysler.

1) Stage 1 Turbo upgrade. $359, +20 horsepower, quicker shifts. For your car, if you can unplug wires and remove a couple of screws you can replace the electronic control module (engine and trans computer) that comprises the stage 1 upgrade.