PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Goodbye Rockauto :(

Like Tree25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23 Jan 2017, 10:51 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Goodbye Rockauto :(

I HAD been ordering parts from Rockauto for at least a decade. Sadly this is ending today, due to Rockauto's EXCESSIVE shipping fees.

I'm performing a timing belt and water pump replacement on my wife's 01 PT Cruiser. It's a big ticket purchase for me, a retiree on a modest budget nowadays.

The parts totaled $155. Then, Rockauto added $50 in shipping fees. Yep, Rockauto raised the price a whopping 30% *:-O surprise

Un-fortunately for you Auto Parts Wholesale has the same price for parts with no shipping fees what-so-ever. So, since I'm buying by price I will not be buying from Rockauto.

As a very experienced parts purchaser, and a professional estimator by trade, I see Rockauto has slipped into the typical successful American business spiral into greed and excessive profit taking. Take this note to Rockauto management. They need a wake up call.

I'll be posting the DIY on the Timing Belt as soon as the parts arrive and it will include the reassembly.

Mr2Tim
Boca Raton, Florida
wingman55 likes this.
Old 23 Jan 2017, 11:05 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Goodbye Rockauto :(

Its always good to shop for the best bargain. Some places have multiple warehouses that they will complete an order and charge for each warehouse shipping to the customer. This is not uncommon and RA has been doing that for years.
Generally I am very careful about ordering from anyone because of this and revue the order to see if I can make adjustments of parts ordering from other sources to for a better total cost. I just placed 3 orders with several parts from RA and have not seen that increase mention and also one of the orders was a repeat from several months ago which the total with shipping was exactly the same.