PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > PTCruiserLinks.com > Welcome New PT Cruiser Members

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Timing Belt

Like Tree12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24 Mar 2015, 12:21 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Timing Belt

Good Morning all, I'm new to hear,
My timing belt just went out over the weekend, I'm trying to figure out what type of 2.4L is in my 07 PT Cruiser, if it is an NON interface engine or an interface. I wasn't going that fast just left a red light, heard a pop, them the car died. any feed back would helpful thanks.
Old 24 Mar 2015, 12:26 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: Timing Belt

The U.S 2.4L in the Cruiser is a Non-interface engine.

2006 Touring Edition in Cool Vanilla...aka/Ghost
Old 24 Mar 2015, 12:29 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Thank you Lion PT,
Would there be any damage done to the top end of the engine?
Old 24 Mar 2015, 12:34 pm
Veteran Cruiser

If I remember right, someone said that only 1 user in the history of this site ever broke a valve...so I'd say that your probably safe.

2006 Touring Edition in Cool Vanilla...aka/Ghost
Old 24 Mar 2015, 03:02 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Hi Nikkiptaz:
Also new to the forum which has been a wealth of knowledge for us. Last winter, our 2002 Touring Edition did exactly the same thing at 113,000 miles. We feared valve/engine damage. Called several repair shops and many were not optimistic. Said we should junk it. As many PTs as are running around, we refused to believe that! Finally found a shop with PT experience! Replaced H2o pump, timing belt and updated tensioner for $1300.00. Almost a year with no issues regarding the timing belt. Would bet that your 07 is ok too! The key is finding a tech w/ PT knowledge! Let us know how it turns out.

We bid you good luck

Thanks for reading this long post!

BigAng
2002 Touring Edition
A/T, no mods.
120,000 miles and counting!
Old 24 Mar 2015, 03:23 pm
Obsessed Cruiser