Loud clunk from front end suspension

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By pluminator

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14 Dec 2012, 12:48 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Loud clunk from front end suspension

The car in question is a 2007 GT.

A month back I had my car lowered with the Tokico blues and Eibach springs. It wasn't long after that I noticed a thunk noise any time I went down/up a 90 degree angle. It doesn't matter the size, even the tiny little bump on the way into a parking lot causes the noise. It only does regularly on a straight cut off, if it's a rounded hump it almost never does it. Another thing I've noticed is that when my car gets put on a lift, jack, etc. the noise doesn't happen for a while. The noise is clearly coming from the suspension and it happens on both the passenger and driver side independently.

I got this all done right before I moved, so going back to the place I had it done just isn't going to happen. While I'm not a mechanic if I were so inclined I could tear apart the suspension and put it back together. I'm skilled enough to tackle the basics, do my own brakes, etc. I'm thinking of using this weekend to rip it apart.

I'm just not sure at this point in time what the problem could be. It's not the sway bar, although I'm going to replace the bushings and end links anyway because they're cheap and I might as well do it while I'm down there. I do have one tie rod end with a tiny bit of play in it and plan on replacing both, but that was already like that before the overhaul. It should only be happening on the side with the bad tie rod end if that was the cause.

Sometimes on a really bumpy road I think I can hear a rattle coming from the suspension. Almost like plastic on metal, as if the spring's top mount is jiggling around. It's hard to tell though because of all the other noises that come from driving on the world's crappiest road.