Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Wheels, Tires, Suspension

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Noisey Rear Drum brakes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31 Mar 2014, 05:43 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Noisey Rear Drum brakes

I'm a newbie PT cruiser owner and need a little help. I just bought a very clean 2001 Pt Cruiser limited with only 78000 miles. The only thing that seems to not be right is the rear brakes. When I first start driving they make a metal on metal sound and that slowly goes away till you apply the brakes then it makes the metal on metal sound again and squeaks very loudly. I removed the wheels and the brake drums and everything looks fine, the drums are smooth, the brakes have about 3/4 of there life left. I didn't see a lot of brake dust, the brakes don't look glazed. Could they just be cheap brakes? Is there a brand that works best?
Thank you my new PT Cruiser friends.
Old 31 Mar 2014, 06:02 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Lightbulb Re: Noisey Rear Drum brakes

I could just be the parking brake portion or the rear brake set-up needs adjusting(maybe too tight?)........They are supposed to be self-adjusting;To execute a self-adjust,you need to drive in reverse,and then pull up sharply on the parking brake lever to stop the vehicle....This may need to be repeated 2-3 times.
Try that and then see if the issue disappears.
Old 02 Apr 2014, 03:34 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Re: Noisey Rear Drum brakes

I think I'm going to try to replace the brakes, is there a brand of drum brakes I should use?
Old 02 Apr 2014, 04:31 pm
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by win717 View Post
I think I'm going to try to replace the brakes, is there a brand of drum brakes I should use?