Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09 Jun 2014, 09:39 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Front brakes pulsing(pumping)

Hello
2001 pt cruiser (no ABS)
Have a problem with my PT Cruiser
Braking at moderate to high speed the front brakes start pulsing.
I checked the pads (ok)and rotors (clean and shiny,no groves)
I read the forum and are still confused.(vacuum system leak, rotors warped
and so on)Then the issue with diogenal break system.
Anybody an idea where to start looking. I'm not an experienced mechanic.
Thanks for your input.

Last edited by Bugworks; 09 Jun 2014 at 10:53 am. Reason: tipo
Old 09 Jun 2014, 09:45 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Front brakes pulsing(pumping)

id change the rotors they are pretty cheap and that will eliminate a bigger right at the start--you didnt say how many miles on car or how many miles on breaks but still id do a break job and see what happens
Old 09 Jun 2014, 10:17 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Agree.
Get new rotors and don't buy cheap ones.
Pulsing pedal is nearly always warped disks, and you will not be able to see the warpage.

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 09 Jun 2014, 11:22 am
Obsessed Cruiser

one more thing changing them on the pt is pretty easy as long as you have a few tools and the want to id say for 2 rotors and a set of good pads is still under $100 or really close to it
Old 09 Jun 2014, 11:28 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruserdad1976 View Post
one more thing changing them on the pt is pretty easy as long as you have a few tools and the want to id say for 2 rotors and a set of good pads is still under $100 or really close to it