PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Violent undriveable wobble only after long drive

Like Tree7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24 Feb 2015, 07:05 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Violent undriveable wobble only after long drive

Newbie here, hoping for some help. My 02' has 105,000 on it and last year after a 120 mile drive the front began violently wobbling. The next day it was fine, fine for months. At the end of last summer it happened again after a 200 mile drive. So violent was the wobble that I had to limp it home slowly on side roads. A shop changed 1 front bearing and both tie-rods, 4 wheel alignment and it was all better. This year new tires just in case. But the problem is back. This time only after another 100 mile drive. Loud clanking horrible noises and another slow limp home thinking I surely destroyed another bearing but alas this morning its fine again. The same shop (a good shop) has it now and are stumped. Everything seems fine. They're taking it for a long drive to see if it happens again but ????? Someone suggested maybe the steering rack fails when it heats up? Anyone heard of this before? Thanks!!
Old 24 Feb 2015, 07:14 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Violent undriveable wobble only after long drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywagon View Post