Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Wheels, Tires, Suspension

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Passenger Control arm

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07 Dec 2017, 02:14 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Question Front Passenger Control arm

2007 Touring non-turbo automatic wagon. I'm not a mechanic but I'm good at fixing cars if i read up enough about it. I've done control arms on many cars before, but this one stumps me. I always use the Haynes manual and google/youtube. In the manual it says to remove the pencil strut and lower torque strut.

I'm gonna do it if I have to, but just to be clear...do I really have to? And if so do i have to adjust it when i reinstall it? And if so, How?

Thanks

Last edited by ShaggySparx; 07 Dec 2017 at 02:15 pm. Reason: Title
Old 07 Dec 2017, 02:47 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Front Passenger Control arm

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaggySparx View Post
2007 Touring non-turbo automatic wagon. I'm not a mechanic but I'm good at fixing cars if i read up enough about it. I've done control arms on many cars before, but this one stumps me. I always use the Haynes manual and google/youtube. In the manual it says to remove the pencil strut and lower torque strut.

I'm gonna do it if I have to, but just to be clear...do I really have to? And if so do i have to adjust it when i reinstall it? And if so, How?

Thanks
The Factory Shop Manual says the same. Recommend you get the Factory Shop Manual so you are confident of the information you need to do the repair.

The Factory Shop Manual also gives the procedure and dimension required when making the adjustment after reinstalling the lower torque strut. This only takes 30 minutes after you have done it the first time.

Are you just replacing the bushing or the control arm?
Old 08 Dec 2017, 02:15 am
Cool Cruiser

Default Re: Passenger Control arm