Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Wheels, Tires, Suspension

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
How to install lowering springs?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14 Jul 2004, 02:21 pm
Young Cruiser

Default How to install lowering springs?

I've done some pricing and I decided on the Eibach Pro Kit, but before I buy them I want to see if I can install them. I haven't been able to find anyone who will install them for less than $200. Is there anywhere I can look at installation instructions? Can I install the rear ones and then take it to have the fronts professionally done, or would I be better off having them do both? I don't have a lift or a spring compressor, but is it something that a couple people could do? Or if anyone knows a good place to have them installed in Charlotte, NC I'm open to that as well. I'm just a poor college student and I'm trying to find a way to save some money. Thanks.
Old 14 Jul 2004, 03:39 pm
Cool Cruiser

If you are not mechanically inclined get a pro to do it. These are suspension parts and your life could be in your hands.

That being said, I'm not a professional mechanic, but I did mine myself. It's not extremely hard to do, but you'll need an external strut spring compressor tool (set of two actually), a jack, some jack stands, and wrenches. I bought the tool at Sears, but your local auto part store may loan them out. I borrowed a tool when I lowered my Impala.

The rear doesn't require a special tool at all. Once you get the car up on jack stands and let the rear suspension hang, remove the wheels. Disconnect the upper (or lower) shock bolt on whichever side you're working on. This will allow the suspension to drop far enough for the spring to be removed. Watch it though. That spring is dangerous if all of the tension is not out of it. Then reverse everything to install.