PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Wheels, Tires, Suspension

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
newbie needs tutoring on wheels and tires...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23 Feb 2005, 05:44 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default newbie needs tutoring on wheels and tires...

I'm really really new at this stuff (of course I'm addicted.) I've done all sorts of simple exterior and interior upgrades and I think I'm ready for a big one - wheels and tires. I own a PT cruiser convertible, the base model (with the base wheels,) and am ready to upgrade... but I see its so much more than just "choose a design." I need a tutor, bad. I like the look of the larger wheels (18") but want to know how it affects the handling, etc. Also, there what are all the numbers on the wheels when I'm looking at them,
ie:225/40/18?

I know this must seem ridiculous that I don't know these things, but we all gotta start somewhere... also, what about the width? how does that affect things? what's recommended? how does one choose these things? What about tires? what is Wheel offset? professional installation? what about web ordering?

I need help with the whole wheel and tire lexicon and would love it to be from a PT Cruiser owner and lover, so I turn to you all to help...

thanks for all the help...

-Ramon
Old 23 Feb 2005, 08:40 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Here's a place to read up:
http://www.1010tires.com/tech.asp
What I want to add is my experience. Bigger wheels may look cool, but there's less rubber between the rim and the road. That means a harder ride, and because the tire patch is wider, better handling - on dry roads. Dunno where you live, but in rain/snow, low profile tires are not an advantage. Also, I hit a pothole with the stock 16" alloy wheels and 55 series tires and cracked a rim - a $500+ pothole.