PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > 2.4L Turbo Forums > General Turbo Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
No Speedo?

 
Like Tree8Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13 Feb 2020, 07:54 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 154
Default Re: No Speedo?

The low-tech solution seems to be holding.

Bob in Liberty, MO
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20 Mar 2020, 03:37 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 154
Default Re: No Speedo?

Okay, I flinched. Had to disconnect the battery for something else and when reconnected, no speedo again. Repeated attempts to affect the cheap solution failed.

Pulled the computer, shipped to FL and it was unrepairable. But for an additional $749, they'd happily ship me a remanufactured replacement.

Not interested in the discussion of the different between repairing and remanufacturing, I had them ship my PCM back.

Found another, more reasonable source, and engaged their replacement option. New unit arrived yesterday and was soon after installed.

A brief TCM relearning occurred - made me a bit nervous when it held 2nd at 40 mph - and things seemed okay. Speedo working just fine but it wasn't long before the CEL illuminated. Codes were P0700, P1604 and P0613. The 613 worried me the most, but everything seemed fine operationally.

Today, however, I took to a back road and pressed the loud-pedal and things seemed a but lackluster (as compared to the old PCM). Grabbing the shifter, I tried to active the Auto-Stick option (which was working with the old PCM) with no luck.

It's acting as if I have normal 2.4L turbo programming instead of GT 2.4L turbo programming. I suspect a software mix-up could explain the CEL and codes as well.

I've dropped my PCM supplier to see if they may have flashed the wrong software and anxiously await their reply.

Thoughts?

Bob in Liberty, MO
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22 Mar 2020, 01:21 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,681
Default Re: No Speedo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCSnyder View Post
Okay, I flinched. Had to disconnect the battery for something else and when reconnected, no speedo again. Repeated attempts to affect the cheap solution failed.

Pulled the computer, shipped to FL and it was unrepairable. But for an additional $749, they'd happily ship me a remanufactured replacement.

Not interested in the discussion of the different between repairing and remanufacturing, I had them ship my PCM back.

Found another, more reasonable source, and engaged their replacement option. New unit arrived yesterday and was soon after installed.

A brief TCM relearning occurred - made me a bit nervous when it held 2nd at 40 mph - and things seemed okay. Speedo working just fine but it wasn't long before the CEL illuminated. Codes were P0700, P1604 and P0613. The 613 worried me the most, but everything seemed fine operationally.

Today, however, I took to a back road and pressed the loud-pedal and things seemed a but lackluster (as compared to the old PCM). Grabbing the shifter, I tried to active the Auto-Stick option (which was working with the old PCM) with no luck.

It's acting as if I have normal 2.4L turbo programming instead of GT 2.4L turbo programming. I suspect a software mix-up could explain the CEL and codes as well.

I've dropped my PCM supplier to see if they may have flashed the wrong software and anxiously await their reply.

Thoughts?

Bob in Liberty, MO
Since your old and replacement PCM both have the same issues with the transmission and same P0613 code, you really need to make sure your wiring is good and intact and no frayed or broken wires. As well, you should check the connections on the transmission as well as the PCM, your grounds inside both fenders, and also ensure your battery is good and its connections are good and clean too. I agree with Handy that it sounds like a poor connection somewhere, either on the Transmission or PCM.

If all of that checks out, it could be that the replacement PCM you have acquired is defective; given the codes. While your PCM very well could have the Turbo Touring/Limited programming instead of the GT programming, which would give you poorer performance, the autostick and transmission should still work normally.

What is the part number on the PCM you have received?

Last edited by myckee; 22 Mar 2020 at 01:32 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 29 Mar 2020, 09:47 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 154
Default Re: No Speedo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by myckee View Post
What is the part number on the PCM you have received?
Part number is 05033328AC.

I'll dig deeper into the wiring harness. As the problem began with a radiator swap in December, I guess I'm going to start by digging under the battery tray.

You mention a ground lug on the passenger side. Not sure I noticed this one. Can you be a little more specific as to where this one hides?

Thanks in advance.

Bob in Liberty MO
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 30 Mar 2020, 12:57 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 154
Default Re: No Speedo?

The scariest part of this myckee, would be if there is something outside the PCM that is causing damage. That fear comes from the diagnosis of the original PCM as terminal completely apart from the vehicle.

Bob in Liberty MO
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02 Apr 2020, 04:20 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,681
Default Re: No Speedo?

Hi Bob, the 5033328 part number is the hardware part number. When the actual programming gets installed, the new part number will actually be that of the programming. Unfortunately, since Chrysler outsources their PCMs to some "refurbisher", they only will tell you the hardware part number and leave it to the refurbisher to install the correct programming based upon your VIN, and send it back to Chrysler fully programmed with only the 5033328 part number indicated.

So, you need to use a scanner to read what the actual programming is on your PCM since the number you have provided not useful other then telling us the hardware is for a 2005 turbo PT.

I am not convinced that the refurbishers actually do anything except take your money and tell you your PCM is defective and not repairable. It's a great moneymaking scheme for them.

The ground pin will be in approximately the same area in the passenger fender as in the driver fender. Its not very easy to get to since the upper engine mount is in the way.

It really sounds like a loose or broken wire to me. Since the problem has reoccurred with a battery disconnection, that it could be the battery terminals themselves or the harness which the postive cable runs along/into near/under the battery tray.

On the factory positive terminal on my 03, there is actually an eyelet with a wire running down into the harness. The battery terminal itself was rather tight on the post, but the through clamping bolt, to which this wire was attached, was not tight enough and that eyelet was making poor contact. Visually, it looked perfect. Suddenly I was getting a p0480 code that I could not clear. Once I discovered that clamp bolt was not tight enough, I took it apart, cleaned the eyelet and terminal, put the bolt back in and my problem was solved. All that to say is to be extra diligent in looking at your wires.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 07 Apr 2020, 05:58 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 154
Default Re: No Speedo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by myckee View Post
So, you need to use a scanner to read what the actual programming is on your PCM since the number you have provided not useful other then telling us the hardware is for a 2005 turbo PT.
Check the photo attached. I think the .AH number is the software version you seek. If not, I'm using an Innova scanner. It has to be there somewhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by myckee View Post
I am not convinced that the refurbishers actually do anything except take your money and tell you your PCM is defective and not repairable. It's a great moneymaking scheme for them.
I felt a bit like the guy asking the tire shop if I needed new tires talking to these people. So, I am similarly suspicious.

Quote:
Originally Posted by myckee View Post
The ground pin will be in approximately the same area in the passenger fender as in the driver fender. Its not very easy to get to since the upper engine mount is in the way.
It wasn't quite what I was expecting having found the 15mm bolt on the driver's side earlier. After finding the passenger's side, I revisited the driver's side and found a similar 10mm screw version. Both has signs of corrosion, so cleaned up, lithium greased and reattached. I also put a jumper on the driver's side lug to the 15mm nut where that battery Neg attached to the chassis for good measure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by myckee View Post
All that to say is to be extra diligent in looking at your wires.
Agreed. plan on exposing the whole front harness to the light soonest. Until then...

Speed and odometer are back in service. It's dropped into Limp Mode a few times and a P0304 code has appeared. I suspect the new coil pack and plug leads need a little love and that will clear up.

Car runs fine w/o Auto-Stick but still not feeling the 50 HP difference between the GT and Ltd turbos. Might just be me and my pant-seat calibration off kilter.

Anyway, MycKee, thanks for your continued help and I'll keep posting as the saga unfolds.

Keep safe, all.

Bob in Liberty MO
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg (97.5 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 08 Apr 2020, 09:44 am
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,681
Default Re: No Speedo?

Oh okay well the 5033410 is a GT calibration.

Do not use an aftermarket coil. These cars are fussy with coils. Some aftermarket work, and others do not right out of the box. It's better to use a factory coil. You can go to your local junkyard and buy a few from any PT or later dodge Neon, or a new one from the dealer.

There is not 50HP difference over the lite and GT. It is advertised to be around 25. You would only have around a 50 hp increase if you had a stage; which you do not have.

Last edited by myckee; 08 Apr 2020 at 09:46 am.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 26 Mar 2021, 08:39 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 154
Default Re: No Speedo?

Kind of left this whole thread hanging. So, here's an update.

...I thought I had it fixed....but...nope.

Anyway, I hope this makes sense.

Bob in Liberty MO

Last edited by RCSnyder; 28 Mar 2021 at 05:42 pm. Reason: Oops.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedo not working! vikingsraven Tech & Performance Forum 5 06 Feb 2014 07:51 am
speedo issue paddywagon General Turbo Discussions 4 15 Dec 2011 09:47 pm
Speedo Is Hard to See dac2404 General PT Cruiser Discussions 7 13 Jul 2011 07:18 pm
120/140 speedo no abs desig in vin ?? calhbkid General PT Cruiser Discussions 7 14 Mar 2010 01:43 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors