PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > Sound and Security Forum

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
pioneer remote wire to amp wont work

 
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Chromenut

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 02:12 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Default pioneer remote wire to amp wont work

my remote line to the amp stopped working, and i need another wire to run the turn on line to. what is a good wire to run it off of? i dont want to have to manually turn it on and off because i dont want to run into the problem of my battery being drained because i forgot to switch it off.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 02:24 pm
randyincctx's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Corpus Christi,Tx.
Posts: 3,485
Lightbulb Re: pioneer remote wire to amp wont work

I would think the wire for main power to the head unit(key-on) would be my obvious 1st choice,but another option might be the 'hot' wire to one of the 'key-on' 12v outlets(front & rear),which if your amp is in the rear is real convenient to the 12v supply located in the cargo area(less wire to run).
With either of those suggestions your amp will power-up whenever the key is placed in the ON/START or ACC. positions.
__________________
2003 PT Cruiser (Base-N/A) Patriot Blue Pearl Purchased @ Police Impound Auction for $1,000.
Aka:~KILLER~

Last edited by randyincctx; 30 Mar 2014 at 02:27 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 02:30 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Real close to the beach
Posts: 315
Default Re: pioneer remote wire to amp wont work

There is only 2 reasons I can think of right now cause I'm half awake, as to why it quit working. Either the port on the amp quit, or somehow the wire itself is getting shorted (bad searching) or came unplugged.

But to answer your question, just run a separate wire WITH AN INLINE FUSE to the cigarettes lighter under the cubbybhole. That way it only comes on with he cars accessories and goes off when he car is off.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 02:31 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Default Re: pioneer remote wire to amp wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by randyincctx View Post
I would think the wire for main power to the head unit(key-on) would be my obvious 1st choice,but another option might be the 'hot' wire to one of the 'key-on' 12v outlets(front & rear),which if your amp is in the rear is real convenient to the 12v supply located in the cargo area(less wire to run).
With either of those suggestions your amp will power-up whenever the key is placed in the ON/START or ACC. positions.
i never thought of running it to the rear 12v. that would be perfect and only be a foot of wire max. thanks ill have to work on that on my day off now.
__________________
01 pt touring, 16 inch borbet fs wheels plasti dipped teal, pioneer 900w amp, mtx 12 inch sub, yellow fog lights and lenses, blacked out tail lights, road magnets, kybs, borla exhuast, freedom design strut bar
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 02:42 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 28
Default Re: pioneer remote wire to amp wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by pappasmurf View Post
There is only 2 reasons I can think of right now cause I'm half awake, as to why it quit working. Either the port on the amp quit, or somehow the wire itself is getting shorted (bad searching) or came unplugged.

But to answer your question, just run a separate wire WITH AN INLINE FUSE to the cigarettes lighter under the cubbybhole. That way it only comes on with he cars accessories and goes off when he car is off.
ok ill run a fuse with it. my old amp blew so its not the amp i just got a new one
__________________
01 pt touring, 16 inch borbet fs wheels plasti dipped teal, pioneer 900w amp, mtx 12 inch sub, yellow fog lights and lenses, blacked out tail lights, road magnets, kybs, borla exhuast, freedom design strut bar
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 03:25 pm
randyincctx's Avatar
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Corpus Christi,Tx.
Posts: 3,485
Post Re: pioneer remote wire to amp wont work

Quote:
Originally Posted by pappasmurf View Post
WITH AN INLINE FUSE to the cigarettes lighter under the cubbybhole. That way it only comes on with he cars accessories and goes off when he car is off.
Yeah...I forgot to mention the fuse(unually,but not always power wires have them already in-line),but that IS an important feature to protect both your car & amp.
And since the rear 12v outlet operates just like the Cig/12v,so it'll be OK as well.
__________________
2003 PT Cruiser (Base-N/A) Patriot Blue Pearl Purchased @ Police Impound Auction for $1,000.
Aka:~KILLER~
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 03:51 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 5,324
Default Re: pioneer remote wire to amp wont work

I have made this suggestion probably over 100 times - USE A RELAY, DON'T GO DIRECT TO YOUR IGNITION WIRING!

Amps/Head units draw a heavy load, and lots of times if you go direct to the power-on lead, it'll overload the wires and burn them out (I know this because it burned out mine!). Most stereos have a lead for on/off that is NOT the load lead. I highly suggest, and you do what you want, but suggest you link to a relay from the ignition/positive lead to the cigarette lighter.

There are two wiring diagrams I put together. This one is for fog lights, say you wanted to add them onto your car. However you can use this diagram for adding ANYTHING electrical to your PT. This one has a switch to control the on/off:



Now, if you would rather allow the car to control it, and lets say you want to be able to have your stereo come on when the ignition key is in the Accessory position, then try this diagram:



Both of these methods take any load off of your ignition switch and save your wiring. I highly suggest this to EVERYONE who wants to add something like a head unit, simply because if it's not OEM, then don't put your wiring at risk! Add to it, the relay is all of $8!!! It's actually quite simple to install and your stereo will work wonderfully.
j0e likes this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Wire Garage Door Remote njsteve1 Members PT Project 8 03 Jul 2014 04:40 pm
remote trunk opener don't work xtreme General PT Cruiser Discussions 2 08 Dec 2011 04:47 am
Amp remote wire Mulligandog Sound and Security Forum 11 16 Aug 2011 11:56 pm
Will this remote work? ProDigit General PT Cruiser Discussions 8 05 Jul 2011 06:39 pm
remote amp wire asnowboarder Sound and Security Forum 2 02 Mar 2008 12:18 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors