• 1 Post By meder24
  • 1 Post By ptprice
  • 1 Post By soonercruiser
  • 1 Post By Carl48
  • 1 Post By Carl48

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25 Jan 2023, 03:38 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Combining Motor Mounts and Timing Belt?

My PT's got about 208K on it and is overdue for a timing belt change. It also needs new motor mounts. Do you think it's reasonable to look for a mechanic who is willing to combine those repairs, or at least give a discount on the combo? Per some YouTube tutorials I'm watching, you have to remove all three motor mounts to do the timing belt anyway. But I'm also thinking the mechanics are quoting high just to get rid of me...

As a follow up question, is the timing belt a DIY project? My dad says no. YouTube says it'll take me two days if I've never done it before.

Last edited by SkyCaptain; 25 Jan 2023 at 03:47 am.
Old 25 Jan 2023, 06:28 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Re: Combining Motor Mounts and Timing Belt?

The center motor mount (large torx screw) can only be changed when you have the timing belt components removed. Replacing the center motor mount could cost extra, albeit not much, since it is only 4 bolts that hold it on. So this one should definitely be done when doing the timing belt.

As for the upper and lower struts, you do have to remove both in order to free up the engine to replace the timing components, so you might as well just go ahead and replace when you reinstall. Since the removal and reinstall of the struts are part of the timing belt replacement process, I cannot see why a shop would charge you anymore to do that work. You would essentially be paying for the parts only.